NDA fares poorly in strongholds of Union ministers from Bihar

Brand-new DELHI: The BJP and its allies found the going tough in Lok Sabha seats represented by their Union ministers along with only agriculture minister Radha Mohan Singh’s constituency Purvi Champaran returning a decent number of MLAs.

In Purvi Champaran, the NDA won four out of six assembly segments. Three – Motihari, Kalyanpur and Pipra — of these were won by BJP while Govindganj went in favour of alliance partner LJP.

Purvi Champaran likewise emerged as the most effective performing district for the BJP-led alliance in Bihar. The NDA won eight out of 12 assembly seats in the district. Singh, a veteran BJP leader from the state, has actually been in the Modi Cabinet since May 2014.

Upendra Kushwaha and Ram Kripal Yadav turned out to be the worst performers, winning only one seat each for the alliance from their respective constituencies of Karakat and Pataliputra.

Kushwaha, minister of state for human resource development, is the leader of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) which had fielded 23 candidates across the state. The party was victorious on only two of these seats.

Yadav, a former RJD leader, joined BJP before the 2014 parliamentary elections. He represents Pataliputra in Lok Sabha and is minister of state for drinking water and sanitation in the Modi Cabinet. Except for Danapur assembly segment in his parliamentary constituency, all five went in favour of the grand alliance.

Besides these three, Ram Vilas Paswan, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Giriraj Singh are the other Lok Sabha MPs in the Union Cabinet. Though there are two more ministers from Bihar (Ravi Shankar Prasad and Dharmendra Pradhan), these two leaders represent the state in Rajya Sabha. Pradhan, minister of petroleum and natural gas, is from Odisha but represents Bihar in the upper House.

Rudy, MP from Saran and minister of state (independent charge) for skill development and parliamentary affairs, could win only two out of six seats for the NDA. Similarly, Hajipur MP Paswan and Nawada MP Giriraj Singh won two seats each for the BJP-led alliance.
Paswan is the minister of consumer affairs and public distribution while Singh is minister of state for micro, small and medium enterprises.
The parties led by Paswan and Kushwaha let down the NDA in a big way. These two, along along with the third partner Jitan Ram Manjhi-led Hindustani Awaam Morcha, could win only five out of the 83 seats which they contested in Bihar.

Posted by: philco on