Uttarakhand floor test on May 10, but 9 barred MLAs can’t vote: SC

Brand-new DELHI: After the Centre agreed to it, the Supreme Court on Friday fixed May 10 as the date for the floor test to ascertain if ousted Uttarakhand chief minister Harish Rawat enjoys majority support in the state’s assembly.

The apex court but additionally added that the nine Congress MLAs who were disqualified by the assembly speaker would certainly not be allowed to vote in the floor test.

Earlier, appearing on behalf of the Centre, attorney general Mukul Rohatgi informed the SC that the Centre was ready for a floor test and asked the apex court to appoint an observer for the same.

“There must be one agenda and the observer must be a retired chief election commissioner,” the Rohtagi told the apex court.

“It must only be a test of strength between the two political alliances in the assembly,” he added.

The SC, however, clarified that there would certainly be no composite floor test – only ousted CM Harish Rawat would certainly seek a vote of confidence in the state assembly.
Rohtagi additionally said that President’s rule must not be suspended when the floor test takes place.
Uttarakhand is under President’s Rule after the top court stayed the Uttarakhand high court order reinstating the Harish Rawat government. Before that, President’s Rule was imposed in the state on March 27.
The Supreme Court had on Tuesday asked the attorney general to take instructions from the Centre and inform it about the feasibility of holding a floor test in Uttarakhand assembly under its supervision

Posted by: philco on